Development of Polish Official Variety Testing

  • 1951- Department for Cultivar Testing was established within the Ministry of Agriculture; at the same time the legal bases for plant breeding and seed production were elaborated
  • 1952 - development of an experimental station network was started
  • 1955 - the register of cultivars for agricultural and vegetable plants was established
  • 1966- Research Centre for Cultivar Testing (COBORU) in Słupia Wielka near Poznań was officially constituted as a national office responsible for variety testing, listing and variety legal protection by Decree of the Ministers Council on the 1st January 1966
  • 1987 - the Centre took over all national official duties for variety listing (National List) and variety protection (Plant Breeders' Right)
  • 1989 - Poland became a member of UPOV
  • 2004 - Accession to the EU